CBCG Awarded Annual Awards for 2024


The ceremonial awarding of the Central Bank of Montenegro Annual Award for 2024 in banking and monetary policy and theory was held today on the occasion of the Central Bank of Montenegro Day, 11 April.

The prize for the best graduate thesis of 3,000 euros was awarded to Kristina Popović for the paper “Asymmetric information in banking and insurance”.

Milica Petković was awarded the prize for the best master’s thesis of 4,000 euros for the paper “Analysis of the liquidity in Montenegro’s banking system in Montenegro in crisis: The impact of the COVID-19 pandemic”.

This year, the CBCG did not present the Award for the best doctoral thesis because the submitted papers did not correspond to the Competition’s topic.

Ms Irena Radović, the CBCG Governor and the President of the Commission for the Annual Award Awarding, presented the awards to winners.

Explaining the decision of the Commission, which consisted of prominent professors from Montenegrin universities, among whom were previous CBCG Annual Award alumni and CBCG experts, Governor Radović noted that “the selection process was demanding and with full transparency and dedication. Every paper was thoroughly analysed, and decisions were made following the highest standards of objectivity and integrity.”

“The event today is also an opportunity to highlight the support the CBCG provides to academic achievements. In the coming period, CBCG will be especially dedicated to supporting young talents and their progress in finance and economy. We are proud to be part of a community that values knowledge, research and innovation, and able to support the development of future leaders through projects and scholarships for young talents, which we will soon launch,” said Governor Radović.

The CBCG Annual Award was established in 2007 to encourage the development of scientific thought and promote young professionals in Montenegro. It consists of a plaque and a cash amount, which was increased by 1,000 euros in each category this year. Since its establishment in 2007, 51 graduates, masters, and PhDs have received the CBCG Award.